CSA Week 7: Cold Soup and Hot Pickles

Growing Things Farm Week 7 CSA Share...and two nice dogs

The Ballard Farmers Market in northwest Seattle is in full swing.  Hoping to improve my chances for street parking, I arrived before 10:30 a.m. to pick up my pre-paid share of vegetables and eggs from Growing Things Farm.  Parking was better than last week, but the market was already packed with visitors so I decided to grab what I needed and escape before it got any worse.

Ballard Farmers Market at 10:30. Where did all these people come from?

CSA share week 7 included:

  • 2 lbs. summer squash
  • 1/2 lb green beans
  • 1 bunch red beets
  • 1 lb tri-color potatoes
  • 1 fennel bulb with fronds
  • 2 slicing cucumbers
  • half dozen eggs

While J and I have been on the Elimination Diet for 33 days, we have already added back citrus, coffee, corn and soy (I am sensitive to soy).  This Tuesday is the “potato challenge” and we’ll finally get to taste the thin-skinned potatoes from recent CSA shares.  I’ll be surprised if either one of us experiences an adverse reaction.  I’m not sure how I’m going to cook them.  It’s a toss up between roasted or mashed…but a chilled vichyssoise would also be good.  I’ll seek Barbara Kafka’s soup wisdom first.  Due to our temporary diet limitations, I must pull this off without the benefit of cream or butter.  I’ll decide on Tuesday.

3 lbs. of organic jalapeno chiles from Alvarez Farm- perfect in every way

Can-it Forward Day

Chile peppers are not ready in Northwest Washington, but  I located some peppers at Alvarez Organic Farm stall at the farmers market.  They farm is located in Mabton, WA (Yakima Valley) where the air is warm.  I bought 3 lbs. of firm, green chiles–ideal for pickling.

National Can-It- Forward Day is next Saturday, August 13.  Canning Across America members, including yours truly, will be conducting live food preservation demonstrations at Pike Place Market in downtown Seattle.  If you aren’t local, I encourage you to watch live streaming video of the Saturday demos at FreshPreserving.com, from 11:00 AM – 7:00 PM EST.  You can even ask questions and post comments in real time.

On Sunday afternoon at Pike Place Market, I’m presenting a live demonstration of pickled jalapeno slices recipe from my book Pickled: Preserving a World of Tastes and Traditions (2003).  It coincides with the kick-off of Canning Across America’s third Can-a- Rama, a week of home canning parties and seasonal preserving nationwide. For a full schedule of free and open to the public canning demos on August 13th (National Can-It-Forward Day) and on Sunday, August 14, visit Canning Across America or visit Canning Across America’s Facebook page.

2 thoughts on “CSA Week 7: Cold Soup and Hot Pickles

  1. Hi Lucy
    I just love seeing your puppies every week with the lovely food.
    I’ve been following your elimination diet….thinking I will begin
    something like it soon. Thanks for the view to your process.
    I won’t have trouble with chocolate either….but I will wait until
    my husband is gone for 2 week to start going without coffee.
    I am decaffed but that doesn’t mean I can go without it.
    Thanks for all your good work!
    Bruce and I are just planning our pickle day for the weekend.
    Georgia

    • Hi Georgia- so good to hear from you. The elimination diet has been a positive thing all around. We’re now 38 days into this….today we are “challenging” sugar. My tastebuds have acclimated to having no sweeteners other than fresh fruit, so everything I’ve eaten today that is sweetened with sugar, including agave & honey, tastes so decadent. When school starts back up, I need to take you up on the offer to visit and have lunch- take a tour. You can even put me to work! Have a great weekend.

Leave a comment