Summer Break

Recently I shared that I decided to leave my position at Airbnb and return to community food systems. I am excited to start my new position as Executive Director of Fresh Approach on July 17. The start date means that I have a few weeks off to restore and prepare for a new adventure. I’m grateful to have this summer break so I can take care of some personal business and enjoy the summer without too many obligations.

This week I ordered a “mystery box” of mixed produce, a dozen eggs, a pint of blueberries and a flat of strawberries from Mariquita Farm’s Ladybug Buying Club. Here’s what I got:

FullSizeRender.jpg

Cassius and Roxy are impressed by this week’s colorful and abundant display of produce. I had so much that I shared the lettuces, strawberries and tomatoes with a neighbor across the street. Also spigariello is in the foreground- it’s the bunch that looks like kale.

  • Cherry tomatoes (orange and red)
  • Napolitano basil (light green ruffled leaves and very fragrant)
  • Mixed lettuces
  • Carrots
  • Spigariello
  • Garlic chives
  • Upland cress
  • Broccoli
  • Green onions
  • Formanova beets
  • Dozen chicken eggs
  • Strawberry flat
  • Blueberry pint
IMG_0697.JPG

An abundance of excellent lettuces, egg, basil, cress and tomatoes plus other vegetables left in the fridge from last week (and a few ounces of sauteed chicken) made a satisfying big salad for dinner.

IMG_0682.JPG

These organic blueberries from Fruitilicious Farm in Watsonville, CA are the best tasting berries I’ve tasted since leaving Washington. Addictive!

IMG_0681.JPG

Strawberry season is almost over so I took advantage and bought a flat from Sea Level Farm in Corralitos, CA.  These organic berries are big, red and super sweet. I sliced up a pint for the fridge, froze a quart and made jam with the rest. Look out for the recipe and details in tomorrow’s blog post.

 

Leave a Reply

