CSA Week 12: Cauliflower, Beans, Beets and Carrots

CSA Week 12: Cauliflower!

CSA Week 12: Cauliflower

The temperatures have dropped and the rain is back. Farmer Matt of Sol to Seed farm harvested another huge share of peppers last week, meaning each CSA box contained another three pounds of beautiful peppers. Again, I roasted them and packed them away in the freezer for future stews and pasta sauces. It’s a good thing that peppers freeze easily or I’d be handing out freebies to my neighbors.  The cauliflower heads are big and beautiful- the variety is colored purple at the core.

I attended an out of state conference last week, but I managed to pick-up my share before I left. That means the box sat idle for a few days, with the exception of salad greens which J consumed.

Last week’s box included:
Peppers – 3 lbs
Cauliflower (2 heads)
Green/Yellow Beans
Salad Mix
Cucumber
Carrots
Beets
….and a loaf of Sourdough Bread from Grand Central Baking Co.

Starting today J and I are avoiding sugar and most starches/carbohydrates (e.g. I’m allowing carrots and beans) for a few weeks to shed the weight we’ve both gained back this summer. We’ll be drinking lots of water and tea, and eating mostly vegetables and fruits, lean protein and dairy in five small meals per day. Last year I lost thirty pounds adhering to this diet for five months and the CSA share really came in handy.

Here are some recipes I’ll be making this week using the contents of my CSA share:

Cauliflower Steaks and Cauliflower Puree

Roasted Beets, Carrots and Padron Peppers (with Pork Chops from Skagit River Ranch)

Pork Chop with Roasted Beets, Carrots,  Padron Peppers

Pork Chop with Roasted Beets, Carrots, Padron Peppers

Green Beans and Crisp Shallots

IMG_0598 IMG_0601

Calabacitas (made without the corn this time)

….and lots of salads with the salad mix and cucumber. As for the bread, I’ll be making breadcrumbs and cubes and storing them in the deep freezer to use up during the holidays.

Finally, Sol to Seed Farm reminded us that there were only 6 (not 8) more weeks left in this year’s CSA season. His following note tells why:

“This year instead of raising the box price, we started the CSA a couple weeks later than normal and shortened the time to 18 weeks. We struggled with this back in January but had to do something to help cover the cost of fuel, boxes and time we had been losing the past couple of seasons – by starting later we were able to get some more variety in the early boxes. We thought we’d give you an idea of what you’ve received to this point, as it compares to market prices: After 12 weeks you have received $415 worth of produce which comes out to $34.50 per box. Over an 18 week season that ends up being $621 worth of food! Not a bad deal for your $500 investment.”

It’s a bargain for us because I:

1) enjoy cooking and can usually make time to prepare meals

2) eat at home most nights

3) enjoy all kinds of vegetables and am open to new tastes

4) usually cook 1-2 meals per day for myself and at least 1 other person

8 thoughts on “CSA Week 12: Cauliflower, Beans, Beets and Carrots

    • I will write a little about it soon- just getting started. Basically it’s a detox/anti-inflammatory eating plan that I used last year and lost 27 lbs over 5 months eating mostly organic vegetables and fruits, and pasture raised, grass-fed meat and dairy (which isn’t really different than my normal diet), but it’s the cutting out all sugars and sweeteners except stevia, grains and most starches that takes the weight off. I’m also drinking about half-gallon of water every day and drinking Oolong and green teas. Next week I’ll be staying below 1000 calories but this first week I’m not really counting- just getting into the swing of things again. I started on Monday.

  1. Lucy,
    I think CSAs are a bargain probably because I do each of the same 4 things (and I’ve got leftover-eating kids, which helps).
    Do you have a fall subscription, too? Our summer CSA is winding down, but the fall share will kick in and go until Thanksgiving, so I’ve got that to look forward to.

Leave a Reply

