CSA Week 11: Three Pound Bag of Peppers

I really enjoy claiming my CSA share each week from Sol to Seed Farm.  It’s now week 11 of this year’s 20-week farm share and this box, like every box, represents what’s grown in Western Washington and in season now in early September.  This week’s box includes:
Cassius and Roxy enjoy CSA Week 11

Cassius and Roxy enjoy CSA Week 11

Garlic
Sweet Peppers, Assorted – 3 lbs
Rainbow Chard
Onions
Broccoli
Cauliflower
Honeydew and Cantaloupe Melon
Zucchini
…and a free loaf of Goldendale Bread from Grand Central Baking Co
While I’m very thankful for this beautiful, locally grown produce, there are only two of us to eat it at our house.  I learned how to cook from observing my mom, dad, relatives and other home cooks I’ve met on my life’s journey.  I had some culinary training as well as “on the job” training. I’m inspired to cook from watching PBS cooking shows (always have).  Nowadays when I’m looking for a different approach to cooking and new recipes, I reference the wisdom of CSA food bloggers throughout the country who are busy chronicling their lives and what they do with the contents of their local CSA shares. In fact, In Her Chucks (a delightful blog) maintains a CSA blogger’s “recipe round-up” on InLinkz each week where CSA bloggers are invited to add web-links to share posts with recipes.  I’ve been sharing my Brinylife blogs for about two years and have connected with other like-minded (and like- hearted) people from all over the country–those who are committed to telling a story of what eating local means to them, but often sharing a personal snapshot of “the good life” from their perch.  It’s never pretentious.
3 lbs. of peppers…what to do?
IMG_0569
This week I have a huge three- pound bag of sweet peppers in addition to last week’s uneaten haul of sweet peppers.  One can only make so much peperonata. I’m saving a few bell peppers back for eating raw with salads and I’m roasting the rest.  Roasted sweet peppers can be tossed into pasta, atop sandwiches (tuna melts are great with roasted peppers), or mixed into grain salads for color and added brightness.  It’s easy to roast peppers and store in the refrigerator.
Roasted Sweet Peppers
  • 3-4 lbs. of sweet peppers, halved, stems and seeds removed
  • Olive oil
  • Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
IMG_0580
 
Preheat the oven to 350F.  Place a sheet of parchment paper on a roasting pan and then place the pepper halves on top of the paper.  Drizzle with olive oil and season with salt and pepper.  Roast until peppers are dark brown or blackened around the edges, about 1 hour.  Turn the pan 180 degrees after about thirty minutes to cook evenly.  Let cool.
Chopped roasted peppers  were included in a pizza tonight

Chopped roasted peppers were included in a pizza tonight

For an extra flavorful twist, pack roasted peppers into a Mason jar. Bring to boil 1 part water and 1 part red wine vinegar and a teaspoon of sea salt (sliced garlic for more pungency) and pour over roasted peppers.  Wait until completely cooled before placing in the refrigerator.  This can be stored for up to two weeks chilled.
For some reason, Cassius thinks he would like some roasted peppers....hmmm, always research what foods are safe to feed your pet before treating. Green and red peppers can be consumed by dogs safely

For some reason, Cassius thinks he would like some roasted peppers….hmmm, always research what foods are safe to feed your pet before treating. Green and red peppers can be consumed by dogs safely

6 thoughts on “CSA Week 11: Three Pound Bag of Peppers

  1. Lucy,
    I’m also getting bunches of peppers in the farm share. I think roasting them is an excellent way to put them up–and pickled roasted peppers sounds pretty cool to me (fun to say, too). I’ve got some chopped and frozen, but I think I’ll add some roasted/frozen too, for a different flavor this winter.

    Thanks!

    • Hey Kristen- keep me posted as to what you do with the chopped frozen and roasted frozen. Just picked up another 3 lbs in my pick up today…it’s the year of the sweet pepper. I’m in Portland for work for a few days but I’m making making some romesco sauce when I get back. May have to chop and freeze some regardless. THANK YOU.

  2. Lucy, I make two new recipes with charred red peppers. One is ajvar, an Eastern European spread using charred red peppers, charred eggplant, roasted garlic, lemon juice or vinegar, salt, pepper, olive oil and a pinch of something like cayenne, if you like it spicy. Google it, or look for it on my blog.

    The other one is my roasted red pepper hummus. Three or four charred red peppers, can of chickpeas, 1/2 cup tahini, two or three cloves of roasted garlic, squirt of sriracha or shake of Tabasco, salt, pepper, olive oil.

    Both recipes done in my food processor. My husband devours both of them. On flatbread. Chips. Veggies.

    • Annierie- these are both really good ideas. Thank you so much for sharing….got another 3 lbs of peppers today – haven’t yet posted but this will surely come in handy.

Leave a Reply

