Quinoa, Kohlrabi and Cherry Tomato Salad

Quinoa, Kohlrabi and Cherry Tomato Salad with Roasted Tandoori Style Chicken

Quinoa, Kohlrabi and Cherry Tomato Salad with Roasted Tandoori Style Chicken

Tomorrow is another CSA share pick-up but I still have last week’s produce to use up.  You’d think I would have eaten the cherry tomatoes by now!  Not surprising (to me at least) the kohlrabi remains.  I hate wasting good food, so I just pulled together this recipe tonight and it turned out tasty enough to share with you. Not fine cooking, this recipe utilizes two vegetables in my CSA share from Sol to Seed Farm and takes advantage of other summer flavors like fresh dill and pantry staples such as quinoa.

Cold grain salads are just right for hot summer nights, eaten as the main dish or paired alongside your favorite grilled or roasted meat.  Or just open a can or jar of your favorite sustainably-harvested tuna or smoked tofu and you have a quick, healthy and delicious meal that doesn’t require the use of an oven.  Enjoy!

Quinoa, Kohlrabi and Cherry Tomato Salad

Serves 4-6

  • 1 cup quinoa (I used half black quinoa and half white quinoa)
  • 2 cups water, vegetable stock or chicken broth
  • 1 garlic clove, peeled and chopped
  • 1 kohlrabi bulb, peeled and diced
  • 4-5 fresh dill fronds, stems removed and chopped
  • 3/4 cups chopped cherry tomatoes

 Lemon Vinaigrette

  • 1/3 cup olive oil (or another salad oil like sunflower or avocado oil)
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice (from 1- 1 ½ lemons)
  • 1 teaspoon prepared Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 to 1 teaspoon Kosher salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper (4-5 grinds from a pepper mill)

Bring the quinoa and water to a boil in a saucepan. Reduce heat to medium-low, cover, and simmer until the quinoa is tender, and the water has been absorbed, about 15 to 20 minutes. Set aside to cool.

Assemble all prepared vegetables in a large mixing bowl and add cooled quinoa. Stir with a large spoon to combine.

For the dressing, whisk oil, lemon juice, Dijon mustard, salt and black pepper together in a bowl until the oil emulsifies into the dressing; pour over the salad and stir to combine.

Place a plate or plastic film over the bowl and chill in the refrigerator for at least one hour before serving.

Serve atop fresh salad greens and top with feta cheese for a complete meal, or serve alongside roasted or grilled meats or fish, or even a can of premium wild-caught canned tuna.

One thought on “Quinoa, Kohlrabi and Cherry Tomato Salad

  1. Lucy,
    Your salad looks great–I love the color combo. I think I need to start doing grain, veggie, and protein salads for one, as the kids are just not into it and I end up making something that I think they’d like instead of something that I want. I had a few leftovers when I picked up this week’s share, but it was 55 degrees the next morning, so I roasted everything that I could roast and now all that I’ve got left for next week is a bit of broccoli and a bit of kale. Win!

Leave a Reply

