Lettuce Begin the 2013 CSA Season

Lettuce Begin the 2013 CSA Season

We received our first CSA box from Sol to Seed Farm and am looking forward to 19 more weeks of exceptional summer produce. This week’s box includes:

Napa Cabbage
Spring Onions
Romaine Lettuce
Red Butter or Red Iceberg Lettuce
Salad Mix
Kohlrabi
Red Russian Kale

…and a free loaf of sourdough from Grand Central Baking Co. because that’s where I chose to pick-up my share

Lettuce is in season now- mild, tender and abundantly grown throughout northwest Washington.  I buy a little extra time with this simple storage technique:

  • Using a sharp knife, cut out the core of the lettuce head (compost the core)
  • Rinse leaves with cold running water and gently shake excess water over the sink
  • Place cored head in a salad spinner and spin to dry (you may also do this in batches if the head is too large)
  • Place a paper towel inside a quart-sized Ziploc baggie and gently place the leaves inside the bag
  • Gently press down to release excess air and seal the bag
  • Store cleaned and dried leaves in the refrigerator to use liberally on sandwiches and salads throughout the week- it’s ready to eat!

IMG_0348

7 thoughts on “Lettuce Begin the 2013 CSA Season

  1. Lucy,
    Thanks for the head lettuce tip! Our composting pigs eat the cores on the rare occasion we don’t get a bag of mixed greens, but I’ve never tried the paper towel trick. Your dogs are very well-behaved. My dog photobombs my shots.
    Thanks!

  2. Hey Kirsten- thanks for the post. I just signed up to receive your blog posts by email. Kindred spirits, I think. I will be on the lookout for your photobombing dog ha!

  3. So great to see you and the pups back! I’m surprised by how different our shares are during this season. Wish I had some of your lettuce for the cabrito adovado that we are making tonight.

    • Hey Tammy- glad to be back! We’ve enjoyed a balance of warm sunshine and intermitten rain so things are growing fast and big. Cabrito adovado! Sounds delicious. Do you harvest your own goats?

      • oh no! I couldn’t do it. They are so cute. I barely eat meat because of that but I do love the spicy stuff. Hoping to get to the NW this summer and if I do, I’d love to have a meet up.

  4. I discovered your blog site on google and check a few of your early posts. Continue to keep up the very good operate. I just additional up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Seeking forward to reading more from you later on!

Leave a Reply

