CSA Week 18: Fall Makes Me Happy

Taking a walk this morning with J and the dogs, I realized that summer is gone.  Our neighborhood is lined with beautiful trees adorned with color and some have ripe pears and apples hanging from their branches. There are many reasons why it’s my favorite season: pumpkins and hot apple cider, wearing sweaters and boots, the foliage, the holidays…coffee tastes better to me in the fall.  Fall reminds me that I should visit the museum more often.  It reminds me of being in college.  It makes me want to travel to see friends and family.  Fall makes me happy and hopeful.

Halloween is just a few weeks away and my neighbors are decorating their houses and yards with giant cobwebs, spiders, severed heads, crypts, and spooky landscape lighting.  Roxy even tried on her scary witch’s wig.  I’m not sure if it will stay on for trick-or-treating….

Roxy tried on a witch’s wig today…scary!

There may be only two more weeks left in my CSA blog series.  Until the 2013 CSA season begins next summer, I will continue to post seasonal recipes, and (of course), Brinylife wouldn’t exist without pickles.  I hope you enjoy seeing what remains of this year’s CSA bounty in the coming weeks.

We now have so many onions in storage, I might not have to buy more until next year. These onions have exceptional flavor, too.

Here’s what’s in this week’s CSA box:

Potatoes – 2-1/2 lbs
Beets – (Cylindra, Detroit Dark Red, Chioggia, Golden)
Cabbage – Savoy
Onions
Sugar Pie Pumpkin
Garlic
Kohlrabi
Parsley
Sweet Peppers (last week for sweet peppers)
…and a free loaf of Goldendale Wheat Bread from Grand Central Baking Co.)

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “CSA Week 18: Fall Makes Me Happy

  1. Thanks Brigid- I just picked 5 pints of beets on Saturday- of course the chioggas and goldens will take on the scarlet color while they meld in the jar…but that’s OK. I wasn’t going to eat them quickly enough fresh.

Leave a Reply

