CSA Week 4: Happy Independence Day

Happy Independence Day!  The sun is out and I’m looking forward to watching the Family 4th at Lake Union fireworks display here in Seattle.  Our neighborhood is perched at the top of Lake Union just blocks from Gasworks Park.  Tonight our neighborhood streets will be closed to traffic while streams of pedestrian onlookers will fill the streets. There’s no need for us to drive anywhere tonight.  We’re staying at home and watching the display from our block.

I picked up my fourth CSA share from Sol to Seed Farm yesterday and (again) the lettuce blew me away.  This time, it’s a heirloom variety Red Iceberg Lettuce that Farmer Matt says has great texture and flavor.  I can’t wait to try it.  The head wasn’t rinsed because they act like sponges and would have filled with water.  Matt advised pulling apart the head, rinse and wash and then storing into a refrigerator for safe keeping.  It’s sitting in my fridge now.  I’m already thinking it would be perfect for lettuce wraps.

Red Iceberg Lettuce is a distant relative of store bought Iceberg

This weeks box included:
Red Iceberg Lettuce

Cassius and Roxy show off the contents of the CSA share #4 (no bread this week)

Lacinato Kale
Purple Kohlrabi
Spring Onions
Rainbow Chard
Green Cabbage

I used up the Rainbow Chard in last night’s dinner of Cannellini Beans and Chard.  This recipe is printed in Madhur Jaffrey’s World Vegetarian, a cookbook that I’ve owned since it was first published in 2002.  I highly recommend it.  This is my version of her Black-Eye Peas and Chard that I make so often I no longer refer to the written recipe.  Just try it and I bet it will become a weeknight favorite in your house.  From start to finish, this dish can land on your table in about 30 minutes, as long as you can juggle three work stations at a time, starting with steaming the rice before prepping vegetables for the tarka (or tiganissi) and the chard and bean pot.  You can make this with different beans.  In fact, any white bean works very well in this dish if you don’t have black-eye peas in your pantry.

Enjoy the celebrations tonight.

2 thoughts on “CSA Week 4: Happy Independence Day

Leave a Reply

