CSA Week 18 and Growing Garlic at Home

The produce I saw today at the Ballard Farmers Market represents summer (peppers, eggplant and even peaches!), but fall is definitely here and on full display. Today I picked up the eighteenth CSA share from Growing Things Farm and I’m pretty excited about the green flagelot shelling beans that, by the way, I’ve never seen in an American grocery store.  Last week I even mistook them for regular green beans, but Farmer Michaele set me straight.  This week’s box included:

Roxy and Cassius enjoy looking at Week 18 CSA Share from Growing Things Farm

  • 1 lb. green flagelot shelling beans
  • 1 bunch cilantro
  • 1 bunch turnip greens (these are excellent sauteed in olive oil, garlic and red pepper flakes)
  • 1 bunch radishes
  • half dozen eggs
  • 1 lb. purple potatoes
  • 1 lb. yellow onions

Growing Garlic at Home

Killarney Red Garlic Seed

I’m growing garlic for the first time ever. The variety I chose is hard neck Killarney Red–which is both delicious and tolerant of the Pacific Northwest’s soggy winter soil.  Fall is the time to plant garlic for next spring’s harvest.  We consume a lot of garlic around here and I figured it was worth a try.  My one bulb of seed garlic will yield  many plants.  I spoke with someone at the Garden Hotline yesterday (a free service operated by gardening experts who can answer any home gardening question) who said that I should plant the garlic as soon as possible. So that’s what I’m going to do today.  You can learn more about obtaining organic seed garlic in your area at the Garlic Seed Foundation website.

One thought on “CSA Week 18 and Growing Garlic at Home

Leave a Reply

