CSA Share Week Twelve: September

The radio woke me up at 6:00 a.m. this morning with the reading of 9/11 victim’s names at the 10th anniversary ceremony at ground zero.  It made me restless so I got dressed and took Cassius, my seven year-old German Shepherd, for a run at Greenlake Park at sunrise and it calmed me.  September is beautiful.

I picked up my twelfth CSA share from Growing Things Farm today.  My share (it’s really a half share with eggs) included:

Cassius, Harley and Roxy agree this week's CSA share looks delicious (Harley is still looking for his forever home)

  • 1 dozen eggs
  • 2 heirloom tomatoes
  • 2 romanesco crowns
  • 2 lbs. tri-color potatoes
  • 1 bunch beets with greens
  • 1 lb. yellow onions
  • 1 lb salad mix
Here is a summertime salad that I threw together recently. It uses seasonal ingredients from my CSA share and from my garden:
Mediterranean Salad

Mediterranean Salad

  • 1/2 cup cherry tomatoes, sliced in half (I grew Sweet 100’s this year)
  • 1 large cucumber, peeled, seeded and halved lengthwise and sliced
  • 1/3 pitted Kalamata or Nicoise olives (or any pitted black olive will do)
  • 1/2 cup feta cheese, diced (I like sheep’s milk feta, but goat is also fine)
  • 1/2 purple onion, peeled and sliced*
  • 2 T white wine or red wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • small handful of chives (about 1/4 cup), chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste
Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and toss to combine.  Adjust seasonings to your taste preference.  Refrigerate for at least an hour before serving.
*Before adding the onion to the mixture try placing the slices in a colander over the sink and rinse through with cold water.  This will tone down the harshness of the raw onion.
Leave a Reply

