CSA Share Weeks 8 and 9

Last Sunday I conducted a pickling demo for the Canning Across America Can-A-Rama kick-off at Pike Place Market but forgot to pick up my eigth CSA share from Growing Things Farm at the Ballard Farmers Market. Farmer Michaele pardoned my ditziness and reserved a replacement bag for me at the Bellevue Farmers Market although many farms, including Growing Things Farm, often donate unclaimed shares to the local food bank.

J and I signed up for 20 weeks of produce and eggs.  My weekly half-share costs $22.25 but it’s worth much more to me in terms of freshness, taste, supporting my local food economy and food safety.  Remember the big egg recall last year?  I have peace of mind knowing exactly where and how my food is grown and I know personally who grows it.  I agree with her values.

Growing Things Farm prices are published on their website and Farmer Michaele  offers latecomers a chance to experience CSA via mid-season sign-ups.

My eighth week CSA share included:

CSA Share Week 8 and my rescue dogs- both 6 years old.

  • 1 lb. wax beans
  • 1 large fennel bulb with fronds
  • 1 lb. summer squash
  • 1 large broccoli crown
  • 1 lb. beets
  • 1/2 dozen eggs
  • 1 lb tri-color potatoes
  • 2 slicing cucumbers
It’s Sunday afternoon and I picked up my ninth CSA share from the Ballard Farmers Market as agreed.  I’m back on track!  Not a lot of produce diversity yet, but Farmer Michaele explained that we’ll start to see more color later.  It has been a slow growing season.  In fact, I don’t think Seattle temperatures have exceeded 80’sF. Here’s what’s in today’s share:

Growing Things Farm CSA Share week 9 (it's really a half share with a half egg share)

  • 2 slicing cucumbers
  • 1 lb. salad mix
  • 2 lbs. tri-color potatoes
  • 1/2 dozen eggs
  • 1 lb. broccoli
  • 1 lb. cranberry beans
We’re half-way through the season!  More next week…
Leave a Reply

