Citrus-free tomatillo & chile salsa

As of today, I’ve been on the Elimination/Challenge Diet for 11 days and it’s going pretty well.  As I said in my last post, it’s been fun putting together meals using creative workarounds to achieve not just edible, but tasty results using only allowed foods.

I use lemon and limes generously in my normal diet, especially in my favorite foods and drinks of summer.  A few nights ago, I experimented with homemade salsa without citrus because most salsa recipes- store bought and homemade – include squeeze of lemon or lime juice (or citric acid)- which is forbidden on this diet.

Homemade pickled tomatillos

Last year I pickled a few pints of tomatillos from my Growing Things Farm CSA box.  At the time, I didn’t have a reason for doing it other than I thought pickled tomatillos would be good for something.  I found a purpose for my homemade pickled tomatillos.  Salsa!

I pickled the tomatillos with garlic and jalapeno rings using the same brine as my pickled jalapeno recipe (see last year’s post) so the tomatillos are the main ingredient while providing the acidity I’d normally get from citrus juices. It’s a smoky and piquant salsa blend and just what I’m looking for in a homemade salsa.

Citrus-free Tomatillo Chile Salsa

Makes about 1 cup

  • 1 large jalapeno pepper , coarsely chopped (stem removed and seeded, unless you like it hot)
  • 1 dried chipotle chile (or if you aren’t on the elimination diet, you can use chiles in adobo sauce)
  • 3 scallions, coarsely chopped (roots and green tops removed)
  • 1 garlic clove, peeled and smashed
  • 5-6 sprigs cilantro, leaves only
  • 1 tsp sea salt (or kosher salt)
  • 1 pint pickled tomatillos (fruit only) reserve juice for something else (like a bloody mary cocktail for when you aren’t on the diet)

Combine all ingredients except tomatillos in a food processor and pulse a few times until blended. Then add the tomatillos and blend for about 20 seconds.  Pour into a bowl and serve.

Citrus-free tomatillo chile salsa

3 thoughts on “Citrus-free tomatillo & chile salsa

Leave a Reply

