CSA Box 19- One more week!

Week 19 reflects the fall harvest

Last week I collected my Growing Things Farm CSA share 19 at the Ballard Farmers Market. I was reminded that fall is the time to buy the best local staple foods like potatoes, eggs, storage onions, carrots, celery and herbs like parsley (hint: Thanksgiving is coming).  In fact, the contents of my box were suitable for any novice cook interested in a plant-based diet.  Everything could be useful and enjoyable to most health conscious kitchens.  Here’s what I got:

  • Bunch rainbow chard
  • Red potatoes
  • Green cauliflower
  • Broccoli (multiple small crowns)
  • Red pears
  • Asian pears
  • Half dozen eggs

I’m ready to collect my last share of produce from Growing Things Farm on Sunday, October 24.  Over the last twenty weeks I’ve really enjoyed a feeling of abundance without shelling out money every week.  Along with my last 2010 CSA experience blog entry I am going to reveal the math and itemize the the pros and cons (if there are any) to joining a CSA.  My gut is that I’ve saved some money and definitely replaced OK-quality, California-grown, organic produce (found at just about any grocery store in Seattle) with more locally produced, vibrant, organic food grown by someone I know and trust.  Regardless of the numbers, this has been a very enjoyable experience for all of us, including Cassius.  I believe it’s worth repeating and supporting for reasons beyond any financial savings.

Leave a Reply

