CSA Box 17: Gave it Away

This week’s CSA Box looked really good, but unfortunately I’ll be traveling this week and unable to enjoy it so I asked my new co-worker, Emma, if she could use it instead. She met me at Growing Things Farm stall today at the Ballard Farmers Market and I handed over the full box minus 2 apples and 2 pears I will take with me on the road this week.

The likelihood of frequent weekend travel is something to consider before signing up for a CSA share.  Ask yourself: “Will I be home most weekends throughout the season (June through October) to collect my box?,” or “Do I know one or two people who I can rely on to collect my box when I can’t?”  If an unforeseen circumstance ever prevents you from collecting your box, be considerate and let the farmer know so they don’t wait for you.  Use the telephone.

Collecting my weekly CSA share has worked well because we’ve taken only weekend trips but managed to pick up the box on Sunday before 3:00 p.m. when the Ballard Farmers Market closed.  This week I was in town to pick up the box but I won’t be home to enjoy it.  A break from my weekly produce means I’ll really be ready for my next box to fill an empty produce shelf in my fridge.

Here’s this week’s packed box contents:

  • half dozen eggs

    CSA Box 17... Cassius will be back next week

  • red pears
  • apples
  • peaches
  • red potatoes
  • green cabbage
  • broccoli
  • tomatillos
  • bunch Easter egg radish

Michaele (Growing Things Farm) confirmed that I now have three boxes left to pick up this season, so I really look forward to getting back in time to pick-up Box 18.  I’m hoping for more apples for a pie or tart.

More next week!

One thought on “CSA Box 17: Gave it Away

  1. You are sweet to share- but there wasn’t much of anything here that would not have held till you get back except peaches which would be nice to take along as well.

Leave a Reply

