CSA Boxes 14 and 15: A Healthy Abundance

CSA Box 14

The seasons are shifting now that it’s September.  The stone fruits and berries from our short summer are making an exit as early pears and apples arrive on the scene.  Last week’s Growing Things Farm (Carnation, WA) CSA share box 14 reflected a seasonal transition.  A healthy abundance of incredibly fresh, organic and colorful fruit and vegetables will keep for a while, especially the huge bunch of green kale and pears.  I thought, ” We couldn’t possibly finish these before the next box arrives.”

CSA Box 14 included:

  • 8 red pears
  • 4 yellow onions
  • about a half pound of tomatillos
  • half dozen eggs
  • 2 sweet peppers
  • purple and white speckled broad beans
  • 4 slicing tomatoes
  • 1 huge bunch of green kale
  • 2 white eggplant
  • 1 lb nectarines

Work’s been busy so I didn’t make time to post a report on last week’s CSA box 14 until today when I picked up Box 15 (see below).  ALL of the produce in my CSA shares have been ingredients in some truly delicious meals this year. It’s cool outside so I am using the oven more than the grill these days.  Last week I stuffed the peppers with sun-dried cous cous, fresh cheese and minced aromatics and served roasted with harissa marinated mahi mahi fillets, caramelized carrots from a previous box tossed with zatar seasoning, and sauteed kale with olive oil and lemon zest.  I’ve used up all but one of the onions for a Rio Zape bean soup we had last night with a ham hock from Skagit River Ranch.  I’ve made a dent in the kale but it’s in really good shape so no worries about it going bad yet. The tomatoes are long gone.  We’ve been snacking on the pears and I’m eating more eggs than ever, but I have yet to use up the beans, tomatillos and eggplant, although I am thinking of doing a vegetarian, Indian inspired meal to use these next. I ended up slicing and freezing the nectarines for smoothies.

CSA Box 15

It’s been pouring rain all week long in Seattle and the days are getting shorter.  It’s mid-September and it’s getting dark outside before 7:30 p.m.  I work from an office at home so the sunshine or my dog wake me up in the morning instead of an alarm clock anymore.  Cassius knows how to tell time, so he usually comes and stands by the bed and nudges the lamp between 6:00 a.m when it’s still dark outside or 7:30 am.when the sun has just woken up.

Today, the crisp fall wind and rain competed with warm rays of sun.  It’s peculiar to see bees around here this late in the summer, so I think they are as confused as I am.

While I didn’t expect to see more stone fruits in my share this week, I got a bag of nectarines and more red pears.  I may have to poach some of these pears.  Gorgeous produce though, all of it! Here’s what I got this week:

Week 15 CSA share from Growing Things Farm

  • Half dozen eggs
  • 3 slicing cucumbers
  • 1 lb nectarines
  • 8 red pears
  • 2 yellow squash (globes)
  • 1 green cabbage
  • 1 bunch red radish
  • 1 bunch rainbow chard
  • 1 bunch cylindrical red beets with tops
  • 1 lb white and purple speckled broad beans

I will definitely have to make a bean dish now since I still have last week’s beans to use.  Radishes and cucumbers are easy snacks to replace chips and crackers. Chard is a staple around here so I was glad to have it along with the remaining kale for sauteed side dishes with olive oil, garlic and red pepper flakes.  I’m saw fewer vendors with lettuces at the market today but dark braising greens and cabbages are coming back.  The nectarines are really ripe but I will freeze these, too. The taste of ripe summer fruit blended into a smoothie later will be really tasty anyway…or I can also make chutney.  Beets are for roasting or quick pickling in the fridge for salads.  I promised myself NO MORE CANNING THIS YEAR—well, except for the tuna canning event coming up at the end of November or early December.

4 thoughts on “CSA Boxes 14 and 15: A Healthy Abundance

    • Thanks for this link- it sounds delicious. I have more pears than we can eat for snacks, though Jason handed a small one to Cassius and he took it gently in his mouth and carried it away. It was really cute.

      Thinking of coming to PDX for my 40th in December…not sure yet. I actually wish I were in NYC right now. Eat some Chinese food for me. Pickle Day is October 17.

Leave a Reply

