CSA Box 13: Squash Blossom & Leek Quiche Makes Room for New Produce

A too brief summer in Seattle is now transitioning into fall.  While the sun is still warm, there is a crispness in the air.  The days are shorter, too.

Today I collected my twelfth CSA box from Growing Things Farm at the Ballard Farmers Market. Maureen surprised me with twenty-six count mixed box of ripe peaches and nectarines grown by Rama Farm in Bridgeport, WA.  I haven’t tried the peaches yet but the nectarines are perfectly sweet and drip down your chin ripe, but not too soft either.  Not sure yet what I’m going to do with them but I need to think fast. I already made a peach crisp yesterday.  The volume of fruit plus the contents of this week’s box is ample reason to get the canner out again, even though I told myself no more canning this year.  Here’s what I have:

CSA Box 12 and Cassius

  • 12 peaches
  • 12 nectarines
  • half dozen eggs
  • 1 lb yellow potatoes
  • 3 slicing cucumbers
  • 1 lb tomatillos
  • 1 lb mixed green and wax beans
  • 1 lb mixed carrots (purple, red and orange)
  • 1 bunch young leeks
  • 1/2 lb mixed salad greens

Everything looks to be in excellent shape, but I’m overwhelmed with carrots and beans now.  I’ll make dilly green and wax bean pickle from my book.  The beans from last week are still in really good shape and it looks like I have enough to put up about 10 pints. My garden has moved on from lettuce and we’re still eating salads every day so the salad mix is always welcome. I see a bif pot of carrot bisque in my near future, too.  I thank my lucky stars for the weekly share of eggs.  I don’t think I can go back to eating supermarket eggs without feeling cheated.  Everything is better- the taste, the color- all of it is superior.  They are really good eggs.

Speaking of eggs, I made a squash blossom and leek quiche this morning before heading to the market.  I deliberately added lots of cheese because, well, I like cheese.  I had grated more than I needed for last night’s rich portobello and gruyere broil.

Squash Blossom and Leek Quiche

Showcasing multiple CSA ingredients: Squash Blossom and Leek Quiche

  • 6 small to medium eggs (or 4 large), beaten
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • 1/2 teaspoon fresh or dried thyme leaves
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • pinch of both salt and pepper
  • 8-10 squash blossoms (stamens removed)
  • 1 small young leek, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon butter or olive oil
  • 1/3 cup Gruyere cheese, grated
  • 3 slices Emmental (or good quality American Swiss style cheese like Tillamook)
  • 1 pie crust (I had one frozen and ready to thaw)

Preheat oven to 375 F.  In a small saute pan heat the oil or butter, add chopped leeks and saute until soft. Set aside.

Grab a pie plate (or cast iron skillet like I did) and place your rolled out pie crust over the plate.  Mold it onto the surface and make sure it’s evenly distributed up and around the sides.  With a sharp knife, draw a few tiny 1″ inch slices into the dough and place into the hot oven for about 5 minutes.  The dough will have shrunken a little but will not be fully cooked.  Set aside.

Over a mixing bowl crack open the eggs and discard or compost the shells.  With a fork, whisk the eggs until beaten.  Add the cream, nutmeg, thyme, salt and pepper and whisk again to incorporate. Set aside.

Place the cheese slices on top of the warmed crust.  Some overlap is fine.  No need to be too thorough here. Place the squash blossoms over the cheese slices evenly followed by the grated gruyere.  Pour the egg mixture into the pie crust and then scatter the softened leeks on top of the uncooked quiche.  Place it into a hot oven and cook for 20-25 minutes until golden on top and center of the quiche is firm.

It’s not a very thick quiche but it’s very cheesy.  We each ate a quarter slice, like we would eat a frittata.  I served it with a slice of sweet ripe cantaloupe and warm press coffee.  Voila! Breakfast is served.  This quiche used up eggs, squash blossoms and leek from previous boxes and made room for newer seasonal local produce in my small refrigerator. This recipe serves 4-8 people.

2 thoughts on “CSA Box 13: Squash Blossom & Leek Quiche Makes Room for New Produce

Leave a Reply

