Apricot Lavender Jam

Apricot Lavender Jam

I got my new CSA box today and there were more overripe apricots this week, so I decided it was time to make jam.  Instead of straightforward jam, I wanted to dress it up a bit, so I bought some Grosso lavender from a farm in Sequim. I found a basic French recipe online and added lavender and vanilla bean.  I have never used pectin, so this made perfect sense to me.  I only had enough apricots to make 2 pints.  It’s delicious.
Makes 2 pints (or 4 half pints)
  • About 2 pound fresh apricots
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 3 cups sugar
  • half vanilla bean, split
  • 1 lavender sprig (no spray)
  • 1 tablespoon freshly-squeezed lemon juice.

Cut the apricots in half, extract the pits and discard (no need to peel them). Place the apricots in a large stockpot with water, sugar, lemon juice, lavender sprig, and half, split vanilla bean. Cover the pot and cook, stirring occassionally until the apricots are cooked into oblivion. As the mixture thickens and reduces, check the hot jam frequently and stir just to make sure it isn’t scorching.

Several sources suggest placing small saucer in the freezer.  When the jam looks thick and is looks slightly-jelled, turn off the heat and put a small amount of jam on the chilled plate. Put back in the freezer for a few minutes, then do the gel test: If the jam mounds, it’s done.  If not, continue to cook, then re-test the jam until it reaches a thin jam texture. Pick out the lavender stem and the vanilla bean and discard/compost.  The lavender buds will continue to impart a slight lavender essence as the jam ages.

Once done, ladle the jam into clean jars.   Refer to the USDA Canning Guidelines for techniques.  You can also let cool to room temperature in any clean vessel and refrigerate until ready to use.  It’s good for about one year, but I doubt it will last that long.

2 thoughts on “Apricot Lavender Jam

  1. Did it set up? I guess apricots have their own pectin, but if too ripe, you end up with syrup. I think you can counter that with some unripe ones.

    • Yes it set, but not too thick. It isn’t very chunky with fruit though and the amount of lavender and vanilla was just right. I updated my earlier post- I actually had 2 pounds of apricots, not one.

Leave a Reply

