CSA Box 8: Tomatillos!

Last week I picked up my 8th CSA Box from Growing Things Farm.  I assumed, since it’s berry season, I would get another load of berries.  I was anticipating having to freeze some because I had a lot left over from last week’s share. Instead of berries there were yellow plums and too ripe apricots. The CSA box included the following produce:

Cassius and the CSA box produce
  • Almost 3 lbs of tomatillos
  • Bunch carrots of many colors
  • Bunch white cylindrical salad radishes
  • Apricots (some so ripe they were busted open 😦
  • Yellow plums (really sweet and refreshing)
  • 1 1/2 lbs  pickling cucumbers
  • half dozen eggs
  • 2 lbs. thin skinned red potatoes

So far this season, I’ve canned strawberry jam and beet pickles.  After tomorrow’s market, I will have enough cucumbers to can dill pickles.  As for the tomatillos, I may need to make a big batch of salsa verde…

2 thoughts on “CSA Box 8: Tomatillos!

  1. Salsa Verde – yummmmmmmmm! Went skiiing in NM years ago and found that they used it on everything from scrambled eggs to hamburgers, to you name it. I love the stuff and homemade has got to be the best! I’m envious.

    • You bet! Jason and I are taking Cassius down to NM this fall to visit Danice and pick up my dad’s drums and records. I have a few personal aims- go to the Georgia O’Keefe Museum, opening day mass ascension at the Balloon Fiesta and eat a lot of green chile.

Leave a Reply

