CSA Box #7- Berry Good

I barely made it to Ballard Farmers Market to pick up my CSA box last Sunday because of traffic and drawbridges in Seattle. I had contacted Michaele (the farmer) to let her know I’d be late but I wanted to get there before the market closed at 3:00.  The box included:

Box number 7 and Cassius

  • 2 pints of blueberries
  • 2 pints of raspberries
  • half dozen eggs
  • bunch carrots
  • bunch beets
  • 2 round zucchini squash
  • 1 large pattypan squash
  • 4 red potatoes (thin skins)
  • bunch scallions
  • Rainbow chard

Not quite as full as last week’s box, I was still happy because I have been eating more fruit lately to replace sugary sweets.

There are two more days until I collect box eight, and I’m almost done with last week’s box.  I do have quite a bit of berries but they’re still very fresh.  If they start to fizzle out before they’re gone, I’ll just whirl them up in a smoothie.  Easy.

It’s supposed to get chilly again tomorrow so I am going to make a pot of soup and use the carrots, potatoes (and parsley from last week) but I am going to make a few pints of pickled beets, too.  The last two weeks I’ve gotten some formanova (a cylinder-shaped beet), perfect for sliced beet pickles.

I’ll take some photos when I do.

I am pretty happy with my decision to participate in a CSA this year.  I know there are lots of options for home delivered groceries, CSA hybrids, organic food delivery and pea patches, but I like the traditional CSA because every week’s box is a surprise (like Christmas) and I know that the produce in my box is there because it grew in the soil here in King County where I live, was farmed locally and organically/sustainably by people I know ( though she includes some stone fruit from Eastern Washington throughout the summer- i.e. cherries from last week).  I trust Growing Things Farm to do the right thing and I invested my money upfront not only for my share of food, but because my dollars go to support the farm- to go towards whatever they need to keep farming. In that, I am a co-producer, not just a consumer.

Leave a Reply

