CSA Box #6 WAS the Best Box Yet

I’m running a week behind but it’s been a short week in terms of access to electronic devices.  We just got back today from a weekend trip to Plain, WA.  A friend of mine has a cabin on the Wenatchee River- about 100 miles east of Seattle.  A highly desirable attribute to this place is that it has no TV, internet or cell phone service.  It has a landline for emergencies, and speakers to hook up an iPhone to listen to music.  It’s the perfect place to write, read or think…or better yet, not to think.  I spent one day canning about 16 half pints of strawberry preserves from a recipe I found by Ina Garten (aka Barefoot Contessa).  Perfection in a jar- just a few ingredients: ripe strawberries, lemon and sugar.

Being at the cabin away from it all results in total relaxation.  I wrote this blog while I was there but could not post this until today when we got back to Seattle.  Though I collected my seventh box today, I still owed myself a posting for last week’s CSA box number six.  So far, it was the best box of produce I’ve received from Growing Things Farm.  It included:

  • Bunch beets

    CSA Box 6 was the best box yet

  • Fennel
  • Green lettuce
  • Scallions
  • Parsley
  • Potatoes
  • Orange and yellow carrots
  • Zucchini and pattypan squash
  • Half dozen eggs
  • Bing Cherries
  • Apricots

If you’ve been following my posts, you’ll recognize several differences between this box and previous boxes.  The primary difference is that fruit shares have finally arrived! My box included two pounds of the sweetest most decadent tasting Bing cherries I’ve eaten this year.  The apricots, although a little mealy, were ripe and sweet.  I never expect fresh apricots to taste good at all, but these were satisfying.

The other difference is the variety of summer vegetables signaling summer is alive and kicking.  Up to now, it’s been greens and the odd root vegetable.  This box not only had colorful roots like carrots and beets, but thin skinned potatoes and zucchini and a lonesome patty pan squash. Everything was vibrant and voluptuous, and tasted delicious.

For the last seven days I’ve been experimenting with 5-day RESET developed by medical doctor, Ray Strand.  The five-day plans involves high-fiber, soy protein shakes, bars, supplements and only low glycemic vegetables and fruits.  Call it a detoxification reset, because that’s exactly why I did it. I lost about five pounds in the process and felt better than I have in years.

It wasn’t a rule of the RESET, but I decided to give up added salt this week as well. Vegetables that are in season- picked just minutes or hours before you eat them-taste better so they don’t really need the added salt. Most leafy greens have a fair amount of sodium, like chard, and can go in salads or steamed.  Just add lemon and a tiny bit of olive oil and red pepper flakes. For example, one dinner salad last week consisted of lettuce and mild, sweet scallions from my garden, dry roasted some cauliflower from the previous week’s CSA box, and orange bell pepper, fresh cucumbers from the farmers market, and cubed up 1/2 ripe avocado. I added about a half teaspoon each of champagne grape vinegar and grapeseed oil. I blended loganberries that I bought from the farmers market with my protein shake and it turned out fine.  I would like to add that ripe avocados made this week seem completely indulgent even though I was technically living without my favorite foods and beverages: wine, cheese, bread, potatoes and salty snacks.

The RESET is over but I’m making more conscious decisions.  I’m introducing wine, meats, cheese, starchy foods incrementally and in moderation- the way I know to be eating anyway. For me, it did take a radical RESET to get me to switch gears and be more intentional eater.  I was eating all the right things already but I was eating lots of crap, too.  I got lazy.

Seattleites are pretty lucky this time of year because there are ninety farmers markets in the area, and lots of fresh, local produce picked ripe and ready to eat.

Leave a Reply

