CSA Week 18: Final Box of Fall

Cassius and Roxy will miss posing for their weekly CSA portrait

Cassius and Roxy will miss posing for their weekly CSA portrait

Last week was the last share in Sol to Seed Farm‘s 2013 CSA Season. J and I paid two payments of $250 for 18 weekly shares of organic produce grown by one farm here in King County. That’s about $28 per week. We started collecting the boxes on June 26th from Grand Central Baking Co. and every week, the bakery has given us a free loaf of bread with our box. I really love this arrangement, and I hope this option is available next year.

Bryce at Grand Central Baking Co taking time away from the espresso machine to hand me my box

Bryce at Grand Central Baking Co taking time away from the espresso machine to hand me my box

It’s almost been one full week since I picked up the last CSA box. All of these items will keep very well in dry, cool storage without processing (freezing, canning, etc). Last week’s share was a fine example of fall produce, including:

Winter Squash
- Honeyboat Delicata
- Sugar Dumpling
- Thelma Sanders
Apples from trees that are estimated to be 85-90 years old!
Onions
Potatoes
Carrots
…and a free loaf of Rustic Multigrain Bread

Farmer Matt recently shared this note with subscribers: “This year was, in many respects, one of the most challenging of our 6 years in the business of growing food. In the world of farming there is no such thing as certainty and even with one of the most amazing summers – in terms of weather – there is just no way to predict what challenges will arise.” Whether you join a CSA, shop regularly at your local farmers market, visit farm stand regularly, or just choose authentically local produce, meat, dairy at your grocery stores, restaurants or online markets, remember that when you support a local farm like Sol to Seed, you are directly helping to preserve farmland close to home, responsible farming practices and wholesome traditions.

I don’t have a recipe this week but I will be posting on and off throughout the season. I hope you have enjoyed seeing photos of my silly dogs and perhaps you’ve learned a thing or two. Thank you!

2 thoughts on “CSA Week 18: Final Box of Fall

  1. Lucy,
    I’ve enjoyed reading your posts, and sad to see your CSA season end. I’m doing the Fall share, which will go . . . huh, I never wrote the end date on the calendar, but I do know they’ll deliver (!) a few days early on Thanksgiving week, so at least through the end of November. I’ve got so much put up, and more still to put up, that I’ll be sharing CSA recipes all winter long. That’s the plan, at least ;)
    Thanks!

  2. Love those silly dogs and your posts! I’m interested in the varieties of squash that you mention above. Today I am sitting here literally swimming in pumpkins, turnips and mustard greens and haven’t a clue!!

Leave a Reply

